Do you see me?

Do you see me?

I am the student who sits worrying you will ask me a question. I can’t hear anything when my worrying is so loud.

Do you see me?

I am the student who goes to bed with a knife under my pillow for when dad comes home from the bar. I am thinking about my mom and tonight.

Do you see me?

I am the student whose mom moved out yesterday. I made her a card. She still left.

Do you see me?

I am the student who got kicked out of the house. Last night at 11:00 PM. I am wondering where I can stay tonight.

Do you see me?

I am the student who didn’t eat breakfast. My dad was too tired to grocery shop.

Do you see me?

I am the student who shuts down when you start talking to me. I might be wrong if I say something.

Do you see me?

I am the student who needs to know you like me. Before I engage.

Do you see me?

I am the student who used to love school. Mrs  ________ told me I was bad at Math.

Do you see me?

I am the student whose head is full of ideas. When I start to talk, I get lost. I hope you hear me. No one hears me.

Do you see me?

I am the student who asked you for help to solve the problem. You ignored me. I asked again and you said you were too busy. I never ask unless I really need help.

Do you see me?

I am the student who wants to change the world. Really. My mom just died of cancer. I will find a cure.

***

Who do you see when you see me?

***

Will you see me…for me?

4 thoughts on “Do you see me?

  1. Wonderful post ,Caroyln. A very accurate description of the realities of a typical classroom. With your permission I would like to use it with my students in Ed D 410 at UVic.
    Denis Harrigan

    • Hi Denis,
      Thanks you so much for the kind feedback By all means, go ahead and use. I hope it is useful. I know in the rush of the everyday sometimes it can become a blur.
      Best,
      c

Leave a Reply

