Working with Diigo Lists and Groups

Dreaming of organizing pertinent bookmarks with your students to help them develop filtering and tagging skills? Do you have a ton of great bookmarks but want them a bit more organized? Are you working with a group of teachers interested in a certain topic (for example using twitter in the classroom)? Would you like to share collections of links quickly and easily with your faculty or department?

Well maybe it’s time to use Diigo lists! Diigo is a cloud based personal information management system that allows you to save links, highlight (even in different colours!), create sticky notes, and organize using tags. You can share and organize your links using lists and/or groups. All your data is saved “in the cloud” so you can access your info from all devices and locations.

Sound good? Check out the summary below.

(If you like to dive in right at the get go, examples of 2 lists I created: Twitter in the Classroom and Whiteboarding Activities in the Classroom. )

Getting Started: Go to Diigo and open an account. Set up your profile. Go to Diigo tools and drag the digolet to your bookmark bar. It should now show up in upper right hand corner. Hit this digolet button, when you are at a site you want to save the link of. You will see this pop down menu. Press save.

digolet

You then will be prompted to add a description, tags, add to a list and if applicable share to a group. You can create new lists and groups right from this drop down menu. Be sure to hit refresh after you create a new list or group. Hit save and you are done like dinner!

Save and tag.
Save and tag.

I saved the link above into my Diigo list called Twitter in the Classroom. When I go to the Diigo website (and am logged in), I go into My Library and scroll down, I will see My Lists (this shows all the lists have created in my Diigo lifetime!).

Mylists

When I click on the list Twitter in the Classroom, the new link 50 Ways to Use Twitter in the Classroom now shows up (with my brief description and tags).

thelist

I am a fairly lazy Diigo user and I have 27 lists. This took very little effort on my behalf once I had set up my account. I like lists as I can easily and quickly share with others as Diigo provides a Permalink for each of my lists.

Twitter in the Classroom

Hot Tip: Crowdsource what other active Diigo-ers have already bookmarked. I did a search using “Twitter in the Classroom” and Diigo generates a list of already bookmarked links. To make it even better Diigo shows me the number of peeps who have bookmarked each link. For example, I see 355 people have already bookmarked 50 Ways to Use Twitter in the Classroom, so I might check that link out first.

crowdsourcing

Going further: Consider starting a Diigo group with your classes. Set up relevant tags in advance or with students and make it part of the daily routine to share, tag and bookmark relevant or exciting links students find. At the end of semester students will have a robust library of links and have some highly useful filtering skills. I did this with my Biology classes last year and students said they found it very useful.

Resources

1. Basic Intro to Diigo Features

2. Diigo Groups Explained

3. Dying for more Diigo? Go here!

One thought on “Working with Diigo Lists and Groups

Leave a Reply

